New England Fights! Rocks the Androscoggin Bank Colisee for Fourth Time in 2012

Share Button

Lewiston, Maine (November 17, 2012) – New England Fights! (NEF) presented its fifth, and final, event of 2012 tonight at the Androscoggin Bank Colisee in Lewiston, Maine. As with the previous three events the promotion has held at the venue this year, and with its one sold-out event in Biddeford last spring, another crowd of 2300-plus was on hand to witness a full night of mixed-martial arts cage fighting.

Fight fans were treated to a monster of a knock-out orchestrated by Nate Charles on Rob Vandastine, a quintessential slobber-knocker of a bloodbath that saw Shawn Goodrich win via first-round tko over Edward Miville, a wild, emotional double-pro debut between Ray Wood and John Raio that had the foundation of the Colisee shaking, a new Maine State Bantamweight Champion crowned in Paul Gorman, and Jarod Lawton submitting Ryan Sanders in the main event with two seconds left in the fight.

“I knew personally that I needed to finish,” said Lawton. “I don’t like things going to the scorecards and leaving it up to the judges. I grabbed it (Sanders’ knee) and squeezed with everything I have. I have to thank my friends, family, teammates, sponsors, and especially Ryan. He’s an amazing athlete.”

In addition to the sixteen fights presented, NEF announced its next card, FIGHT NIGHT VI, scheduled for February 2, 2013 back at the Colisee. The main event of that card will feature current Main State Middleweight Champion Jesse Peterson (7-2) moving up in weight to face Greg Rebello (14-5) in a bout to determine the first-ever Maine State Light Heavyweight Champion. FIGHT NIGHT VI will have a special start time of 5:00 pm. Tickets are on sale now at or by calling The Colisee box office at 207.783.2009 x 525. For more information on the event, visit You can watch NEF videos at, follow them on Twitter @nefights and join the official Facebook group “New England Fights.”

The results of FIGHT NIGHT IV:


170 Jarod Lawton (IABJJ) def Ryan Sanders (Young’s MMA) kneebar round 3

135 Paul Gorman (Academy) def Adam Toussaint (Havoc) rear-naked choke round 2 [Gorman wins Maine State Bantamweight Championship]

155 John Ortolani (Triumph) def Bruce Boyington (Young’s MMA) rear-naked choke round 1

150 Dez Green (Bombsquad) def Brandon Fleming (SSSF) unanimous decision

147 Ray Wood (Young’s MMA) def John Raio (MMA Athletix) ref stoppage-strikes round 2


145 Shawn Goodrich (Havoc) def Edward Miville (CMBJJ) ref stoppage-strikes round 1

135 Elias Leland (The Academy) def Tommy Balzano (Team Irish) armbar round 1

135 Brandon Bushaw (Fitness Edge MMA) def Nick Spencer (Choi’s) unanimous decision

155 Damon Owens (Young’s MMA) def Steven Bang (CMBJJ) rear-naked choke round 1

205 Brent Dillingham (MMA Athletix) def Ben Raven (Sipayik Boxing Club) ref stoppage-strikes round 1

170 Andrew Tripp (Team Irish) def Tollison Lewis (Balanced Ground MMA) rear-naked choke round 1

155 Jesse Erickson (CMBJJ) def Drew Waltz (Young’s MMA) ref stoppage-strikes round 1

135 Cody Sargent (Balanced Ground MMA) def Derek Shorey (Bill Jones’ Shop) neck crank round 1

135 Eric Austin (CMBJJ) def Steve Sobel (Independent) unanimous decision

155 Nate Charles (Balanced Ground MMA) def Rob Vandastine (IABJJ) ko round 1

195 Crowsneck Boutin (Independent) def Tony Wells (CMBJJ) ko round 2

Submit Your Article!

LOG IN or REGISTER here to submit
your article directly to the site:
Log In ...or please send all e-mails, press releases or articles to

- We will not consider previously published articles. - Do not copy articles from other sites!